Event information

This page contains information about the results of the tournament, the participating teams and the Major Events Management Act.

Tournament results

The final match of the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ took place between Spain and England in Australia, on Sunday 20 August 2023. Spain emerged as champions, beating England 1-0 in the final at Stadium Australia in Sydney.

Spain became just the fifth team to win the FIFA Women’s World Cup, joining USA, Norway, Germany, and Japan. They have also become the first nation to hold all three global titles simultaneously (the FIFA Women’s World Cup, the FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup and the FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup).

In the third-place playoff, Sweden secured third place with a 2-0 win over Australia.

Records were broken on and off the park as Australia and New Zealand embraced the tournament. The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ was the most successful FIFA Women’s World Cup ever, with almost 2 million fans attending matches in New Zealand and Australia, including over 700,000 attending matches in New Zealand.

In New Zealand attendance records were broken multiple times, firstly at the opening match between the Football Ferns and Norway which at 42,137 set a new record for a men’s or women’s football match, and finally at the semi-final between Spain and Sweden which drew a crowd of 43,217.

The tournament also saw more than 2.2 million people in New Zealand watching on television, which equates to 46.1% of all New Zealanders aged five and above, with half of those viewers (1.1 million) female.

Read about the record breaking tournament - MBIE’s website(external link)

Read the Tournament reviews - FIFA’s website(external link)

Qualified teams

The following 32 teams qualified for the FIFA Women's World Cup 2023™.

Argentina, Australia (host), Brazil, Canada, China PR, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Haiti, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Korea Republic, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand (host), Nigeria, Norway, Panama, the Philippines, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, USA, Vietnam and Zambia.

Match schedule for Aotearoa New Zealand

A night image of a football stadium with the field pitch painted in colours of green, orange, red, and blues and fireworks displaying on top of the grandstand.

Aotearoa New Zealand hosted 16 teams, the much-anticipated opening ceremony and match, two quarter-finals and a semi-final – a total of 24 group matches and five knock-out matches.

The teams that were based in Aotearoa New Zealand for the group stage of the tournament were: USA, Sweden, Spain, Switzerland, the Philippines, Norway, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan, Vietnam, the Netherlands, Argentina, Italy, Portugal, South Africa and New Zealand. 

Find out more about the match schedule for the tournament:

Match schedule: FIFA Women’s World Cup [PDF, 102KB](external link)

Host cities

The Host cities and stadia for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ in Aotearoa New Zealand were:

  • Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau – Eden Park
  • Dunedin/Ōtepoti – Dunedin Stadium
  • Hamilton/Kirikiriroa – Waikato Stadium
  • Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-Tara – Wellington Regional Stadium

Information about the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ stadia - FIFA’s website(external link)

Team Base Camps

For the first time in FIFA Women’s World Cup history, teams competing in the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ used dedicated Team Base Camps. A Team Base Camp is a ‘home away from home’ for teams and includes a training site and accommodation.

In Aotearoa New Zealand, 16 Team Base Camps were confirmed across the four host cities and three regional centres (Tauranga, Palmerston North and Christchurch) for the 16 qualified teams that played group matches in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Information about the Team Base Camps, including where each team were based - FIFA’s website (external link)

FIFA Fan Festivals

Penguin mascot dressed in a football shirt that has AU-NZ 2023 written on it, giving a young kid a high-five

During the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ there were FIFA Fan Festivals in each host city (Dunedin, Wellington, Hamilton and Auckland). Around 165,000 fans visited the FIFA Fan Festivals in the four New Zealand Host Citites.

All FIFA Fan Festivals were free to enter and provided a vibrant destination to celebrate the global game and experience the best in football, music, entertainment, local culture, food and games. Fans could also watch matches on big screens at each venue.

Information about the Fan Festivals - FIFA’s website (external link)

Major Events Management Act 2007 

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ was declared a major event under the Major Events Management Act 2007 (MEMA). This means the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™ benefitted from MEMA protections.

Find out more about Major Events Management Act 2007

Eyes On NZ

Eyes on NZ was the online hub for everything to do with the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023™, sharing exciting stories and events from people and communities around the motu, with a focus on empowering future generations of New Zealanders and leaving a lasting legacy. 

To view the stories and information visit EyesOnNZ website(external link)

You can also follow EyesOnNZ on social media: Facebook(external link)  and Instagram(external link)